Ahir, Guardian of Malor, Chapter 11: Ahir Arrested, Part 1

Tor’jahd swooped down and landed on Milton’s arm as he watched Ahir jogged toward him. Tor’jahd glared at Ahir. “What are you doing back so fast boy? Have you already slain those of my kin who came to your city?”

Ahir looked down at the sidewalk. “No, the portal closed before we could get to it.” Ahir looked up and met Milton’s gaze. “We need to work together so we can make sure that this doesn’t happen again.”

Milton grunted. “If the Aureus’Aevum want to leave on their own, I don’t see why that is a problem. As far as I am concerned, this means that we don’t have to see each other ever again.”

Ahir shook his head. “The Aureus’Aevum took four people back with them.”

Milton stared at Ahir. He remained silent for several moments before replying, “You let people be taken?”

Ahir shook his head. “This isn’t just on me, Milton. Tor’jahd is the one that knew when that portal was going to open, and he didn’t tell anyone. It’s his fault we didn’t get there in time.”

Milton opened his mouth to answer, but Trixie interrupted. “That’s not what’s important right now! We need figure out a way to make sure that something like this doesn’t happen again! Milton, Ahir has an idea for how we can make that happen. Are you at least willing to listen to what it is?”

Milton looked at Trixie, and then at Ahir. He crossed his arms, turned his back to Ahir, and took a step away. “I’m listening.”

Ahir smiled at Trixie and mouthed the words ‘Thank you.’ “I think you’ll like this idea, Milton, because it means you won’t have to see me anymore, or even talk to me.”

Milton turned and looked at Ahir. “I’m liking this idea so far, but I don’t see how that’s going to prevent other people from being taken.”

“Tor’jahd knows when and where portals are going to open, unlike Bar’bou, who only knows where they are after they have opened. Trixie is going to give you her phone number, and if two portals open again, we’ll let you go after the first one alone. You call Trixie and let us know when and where the second one is going to open, and we’ll go take care of that one.”

Milton looked at Trixie and then back at Ahir. “If I do that, you promise you won’t show up at the first open portal?”

Ahir nodded his head. “I won’t show up at any portals that you don’t choose to tell us about. I don’t like the idea of splitting our power, especially while you’re injured, but it gives us the best opportunity to keep the most people safe. What do you think?”

Milton frowned. “I don’t know. I like the idea of not having you show up and mess up my fights anymore, but at the same time if I tell you about where to find the Aureus’Aevum that means that you’ll kill more of them.” Milton looked over at Tor’jahd, who had perched on a nearby trash can. Tor’jahd shook his head and Milton bit his bottom lip. “But if things are allowed to continue like this then more people might get hurt. We can give this plan of yours a try Ahir.

Ahir smiled. “Good, I think we’re going to be able to protect a lot of people this way, Milton.
Milton sighed. “Yeah yeah, just give me Trixie’s phone number so I can leave. I have somewhere I need to be.”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Milton limped into a room and smiled at the nurse placing medical supplies into the cupboard over the sink. He limped over to the examination table and took a seat. “Hello, Ms. Brooks, I hope I’m not too late for my appointment.”

Ms. Brooks smiled back at Milton. “Not at all, Milton, you are actually a couple of minutes early, but it’s okay. My last appointment got done early. Have you been staying off of your leg like I told you to?”

Milton frowned. “I’ve been trying to, but I think I’ve been on it a little more than I should have been.”

Ms. Brooks frowned back at Milton. “It’s not going to heal if you don’t rest it, Milton. Let me take a look at it.” Milton began to roll up the leg of his jeans, exposing his bandage wrapped leg. The nurse walked over and unwrapped the bandage and examined Milton’s leg. She shook her head and sighed. “Milton, what have you been doing? It looks like you have been trying to pass a military fitness test, not resting! If you don’t give your leg time to heal, it’s only going to get worse! You might keep that limp for the rest of your life! Promise me that you will stay off of it for the next couple of days. I’ll write your teacher a note giving you an excuse not to go to class if you promise me you’ll stay off of that leg.”

Milton looked away. “I’ll try to stay off of it.”

Ms. Brooks shook her head and grabbed a bottle of ointment out of the cupboard and and squirted some into her hands. She began to rub the ointment onto Milton’s leg and wrapped a new bandage around it. “You are a smart guy, Milton. Act like it, and stay off of your leg for a couple of days.” She pulled her rubber gloves off and grabbed a notepad and scribbled a quick note. She tore it off of the notepad and handed it to Milton.

Milton stood up and winced once he put weight back onto his leg. He limped up to Ms. Brooks and took the note from her. “Thanks Ms. Brooks. I’ll go and show this to my teachers and go get my leg up.”

Milton walked out of the clinic and Tor’jahd swooped down and landed on Milton’s shoulder. “What did the nurse say? Is your leg getting better?”

Milton shook his head. “No, it’s getting worse. She says if I don’t take time to rest up I might have this limp for the rest of my life. Maybe I should give the Powaga Joursi to someone else for a while, just while I recover. If Ahir had it, maybe he would stop killing your people.”

Tor’jahd turned his head and fixed one of his golden eyes on Milton. “You wish to pass on the Powaga Joursi to another, and to Ahir of all people? Do you think that he would be willing to give up the power the bow offers when you asked him to return it? Do you think anyone would be able to?”

Milton stopped walking and looked down at the sidewalk. “I don’t know what else to do, Tor’jahd. I want to keep fighting, but the Aureus’Aevum that are coming through the portal are getting stronger and smarter. If Ahir and Trixie hadn’t shown up when they did, I might have died. I can’t keep up with my leg like this. I just don’t know what to do.”

Tor’jahd sighed. “There is one thing that I can do, but not here. Let’s return to your apartment.”

Milton looked at Tor’jahd and started to walk again. “What are you going to do Tor’jahd?”

“A gamble, but one that I think will be worth it.”

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more of it, you can find the previous parts, as well as other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination check out my facebook page for updates on the stories here: EJBorchardt, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read, and come back on Wednesday for part 2 of Chapter 11.

Leave a Reply

