Ahir, Guardian of Malor, Chapter 11: Ahir Arrested, Part 3

Ahir sat with his wrists handcuffed to the table in front of him, and an investigator sat across from him massaging his head. He sat back in his chair and sighed. “That’s a very interesting story that you are telling me, Ahir, but I don’t believe a word of it. Right now you are facing some very serious jail time for murder and arson. Listen, we have witnesses that say they saw another man and a woman with you at the apartment fire, and my officers say that there was a woman with you in that parking lot today. Give me their names and I’ll get you a lighter sentence.”

“I didn’t start that apartment fire, Captain Ember did! I’ll admit that I killed him, but only because his body was taken over by Lang’kahn, and if I didn’t he was going to burn this world to the ground!”

“Right, if these invaders from another dimension are going to take over the world, why didn’t you call the police? Why try to fight this invasion on your own?”

Ahir sighed. “Because the police are unable to do anything! Ask your officers that attacked that Aureus’Aevum at the parking lot today. They’ll tell you that their guns didn’t do anything to it.”

The investigator stood up, nodded his head, and started to pace around the questioning room. “What is it about your sword that makes it so much more effective against these creatures? Do only bladed weapons work against them?”

Ahir sighed. “I’ve already told you that the Gladio Protegat is the only weapon that has been formed that can kill, much less injure, an Aureus’Aevum, and only I can wield it. In anyone else’s hands the blade isn’t even sharp.”

A knock sounded at the door of the questioning room. A police officer poked his head in and walked over to the investigator and whispered into his ear, “The kid is telling the truth. We’ve tested out the sword and it isn’t sharp at all. We can’t even cut a sheet of paper with it.”

Ahir pounded his fists down onto the table out of frustration. The police officer and investigator turned and looked at Ahir with their guns pulled out of their holsters. Ahir fixed the investigator with a fiery gaze. “You have to let me go! The longer you keep me locked up in here the better chance that innocent people are going to be taken prisoner by the Aureus’Aevum! You captured the monkey that was at the parking lot today, if he spoke to you would you believe what I’m saying?”

The investigator laughed. “If your monkey spoke it would certainly help to make me more open to what you are saying.”

“Bring the monkey down here and I will convince him to speak with you.”

The investigator looked at Ahir suspiciously. “How do I know that you don’t just want us to bring your monkey down here so that he can help you escape?”
Ahir sighed. “Fine, take a banana to Bar’bou and tell him it’s from Ahir. If that doesn’t get him talking I don’t know what will.”

The investigator rolled his eyes and looked at the other police officer in the room. “Danis, go ahead and take Ahir’s monkey a banana.” The police officer nodded his head and walked out of the room chuckling. The investigator turned his attention back on Ahir. “I don’t know if you’re trying to go for an insanity plea, or are just crazy, but either way, I’ll see that justice is done.”

“I’m not crazy, I’m telling you the truth. Why won’t you believe me?”

The investigator sighed. “I can’t believe you. If what you are saying is true, then we are under attack from beings that I can’t protect anyone from, and our fate is in the hands of a street performer. I’d rather believe that you are an insane homicidal maniac than that.”

The door opened up and the police officer that had gone to give Bar’bou a banana walked in, his eyes wide with shock and his mouth hanging open. The investigator turned and looked at him. “Did the monkey talk?”

The police officer nodded his head. “He’s talking all right, but I have no idea what he’s saying.”

Ahir laughed, “That’s Bar’bou for you. Talks as if his parents read him the dictionary every night as a bedtime story. Will you believe me now?”

The investigator turned and looked at Ahir inquisitively. “So you aren’t insane. Everything you told us before was true then?”

Ahir smiled. “Yes, that’s what I’ve been telling you this whole time!”

The investigator nodded. “So you say that Captain Ember was using magic, and not super powers. Is magic something that my officers could learn?”

Ahir’s eyes opened wide in panic. “Your officers could learn to use magic, but you shouldn’t. Anyone who uses magic will be corrupted until eventually you are literally Lang’kahn’s puppet. That’s what happened to Captain Ember. Using magic wouldn’t help you against the Aureus’Aevum anyway, the only way you can hurt or kill them is with the Gladio Protegat, and only I can wield it.”

The investigator sat back and stared at the ceiling for a few minutes in silence. “It appears that you are not responsible for your old apartment building burning down, and you are not responsible for the death of Thaddeus Dillard, so I’m going to drop the charges against you.” Ahir smiled at the investigator. “Under one condition…” Ahir’s face turned more serious and he stared back at the investigator. “You have to inform us whenever one of these portals open up and Aureus’aevum are coming into our world. My men and I might not be able to fight against these things, but we can make sure that no one gets too close while you fight them.”

Ahir smiled at the investigator. “I will agree to that sir, it sounds like an excellent plan to me. Do you have a phone number that I can reach you at the next time an Aureus’Aevum shows up?”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Trixie paced back and forth across the floor of her apartment, a worried look on her face. “Oh, he should have been here by now. He’s either dead or the police captured him. I’m certain it’s one of the two. Oh, Ahir, why didn’t you run away with me? Or at least let me stay with you.”

Sil’abo perked his head up and looked over at Trixie, his dog ears twitching. “Calm down already, Trixie! Worrying about Ahir isn’t going to get him back here any sooner. I’m certain that Ahir is alright, otherwise Bar’bou would have returned with the sword, for all the good it would have done us.”

Trixie looked at Sil’abo and opened her mouth, but before she could say anything, Ahir walked through the door. Trixie smiled and ran over to Ahir and gave him a big hug. “Ahir! You’re safe!”

Ahir blushed. “Yeah, and this reminds me: we need to talk about that kiss you gave me earlier.”

Trixie’s eyes opened up wide, she squeaked, let go of Ahir, and jumped away. She blushed and started to fiddle with her hands as if she didn’t know what to do with them and finally settled the clasping her hands behind her back. “Sorry about that, I’m not sure what came over me.”

Ahir smiled at Trixie. “Dont’ worry about it, I’m sure it’ll give us something to talk about later, but I need to tell you about what happened after you left today.”

“Something happened? Are you okay?”

Bar’bou jumped from Ahir’s shoulder to land on the counter. “Yes, neither of us sustained any serious trauma, though I must confess that I feared for Ahir’s welfare during his confrontation this afternoon, as well as when he was apprehended by the authorities.”

Trixie looked at Bar’bou with confusion. “Apprehended by the authorities? Wait, you were caught by the police? How did you escape? Did they follow you here?”

Ahir shook his head. “Don’t worry about it, Trixie. Yes, I was caught by the police, but they let me go after I explained everything to them. It took a while for them to believe me, but once they did they decided to help us. We just call when a portal opens up and tell them where it is, and they will come and do crowd control so that no one else gets mixed up in our fights. We need to call Milton and tell him about it too.”

Trixie nodded her head. She reached into her back pocket and pulled out her phone. she paused and then looked at Ahir suspiciously. “Wait, when you say it took a while for them to believe you, you don’t mean that you used magic, do you?

Ahir smiled and shook his head. “No, it didn’t’ take something as drastic as that. I just had them give Bar’bou a banana.”

Bar’bou crossed his arms and glared at Ahir. “Only one such as yourself would decide to torture me after my incarceration.”

Ahir shrugged and smiled at Bar’bou. “I needed to get you to talk somehow and they wouldn’t let me see you, Bar’bou. It got us out of there and we have some help now. I just hope that Milton is as open to their help as I was.”

Trixie laughed and handed the phone to Ahir. “I don’t think Milton will be happy about this.”

Ahir took the phone and started searching through Trixie’s contacts. “I don’t think much of anything makes him happy.” Ahir finally found Milton’s number and called it.

Ahir lifted the phone up to his ear and listened to it ring. Milton said, “The agreement was that I would call you when a portal opened, Trixie. What do you want?”

Ahir cleared his throat. “Sorry to disappoint you, Milton, but I’m not Trixie.”

Milton growled over the phone. “The agreement definately said that I didn’t need to ever talk to you again, Ahir!”

Ahir frowned. “Hear me out, Milton, I wouldn’t be calling if it wasn’t important. The police know about us.”

“What?”

“The police showed up today when I was fighting two Aureus’Aevum and I was caught afterward.”

Milton chuckled. “So the fire at your old apartment finally caught up with you, did it? Don’t drop the soap. Wait, I’m not your one phone call, am I?”

Ahir sighed. “Yes, they arrested me for that, but they let me go, in exchange for letting them know when and where portals are going to open. They’ll make sure that no else gets involved in the fights, so I thought maybe you would want to know so that you could use them too.”

Milton hesitated before answering. “They just want to make sure that no one else gets involved?”

“That’s all they want, Milton.”

“Okay, I’ll call them whenever I go out, but you had better not call me again, Ahir.” Milton ended the call.

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more of it, you can find the previous parts, as well as other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination check out my facebook page for updates on the stories here: EJBorchardt, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read, and come back on Monday for chapter one of Rebellion on Aquore.

Leave a Reply

