The Super Morpher, Chapter 6: Declaration of War Part 1

Jordan swallowed hard. “Hello, Lieutenant Jacob. I’m not the one in charge of this lab; my chemistry professor just allows me to work in here between classes, but I can go and find him for you.” Jordan stood up from his desk.

Lieutenant Jacob held up his hand. ‘No, that’s quite alright. I’ve been asking around campus where I might be able to find Jordan Schara, and this was the most popular answer. You are Jordan Schara, aren’t you?”

Jordan smiled nervously. “Yes, I am Jordan. Is there something I can assist you with?”

“As a matter of fact, there is. Word has reached the police department about one of your little experiments, and we were hoping that you might be willing to use it to aid us.”

Jordan cleared his throat. “Which experiment would that be?”

Lieutenant Jacob chuckled. “Your bullet proof cloth, of course. What experiment did you think I was talking about?”

Jordan chuckled nervously. “I’m not sure. I made a neat baking soda vinegar volcano in third grade. And my fabric is more than bullet proof, it’s indestructible.”

Lieutenant Jacob shrugged. “That sounds even better. We’d like to enter into a contract with you for body armor for all of our officers. How soon could you have them finished?”

Jordan held his hand up to his chin. “It’s a bit more complicated than that. I’ve run several tests on the fabric, including some with human subjects, and while it does stop bullets, the bullets still leave bruises, and painful ones. I could design a suit that includes some padding to prevent that, but I’ll need the measurements for each of your officers. Once I make it indestructible, you won’t be able to make any changes to it.”

“I see.” Lieutenant Jacob pulled out a pad of paper and a pen. “I think this just turned into more of a fact finding mission for me.” He started to scribble notes down on his pad of paper. “Okay, so you will need sizes of all the officers, what else do you need to know?”

“I need to know if I’m designing your uniforms from scratch, of if I’m just modifying your existing ones.”

Lieutenant Jacob scribbled down some more notes. “Okay, and now let’s talk about price. How much is this going to cost the department per uniform?”

Ryan burst into the room while looking down at his phone. “Becky is mad at me, for not coming over last night. How late do you want to train tonight?” Jordan cleared his throat and Ryan looked up. “Sorry, I didn’t know that you were meeting with someone.”

Jordan shook his head. “It’s alright, but I don’t know how late this meeting is going to go, so why don’t you go ahead and hang out with Becky? We can get back to work tomorrow.”

Lieutenant Jacob looked at the two of them with interest. “No, don’t mind me. I’d love to hear more about the training you were talking about.”

Ryan looked at Lieutenant Jacob. “Umm, football training. I play football for the school here, and Jordan had come up with some new experimental training.”

Jordan nodded his head. “That’s right. I have come up with a theoretical new method for athletic training, and Ryan has agreed to try it out for me.”

Lieutenant Jacob smiled. “I love football. I’d love to hear more about his.”

Jordan shook his head. “I’d rather not discuss it until I have more conclusive results. I believe you were asking about pricing for the uniforms?”

Lieutenant Jacob nodded his head. “Yes, I need to know the prices for the uniforms, for if you just modify our existing outfits, and one for designing new ones from scratch.”

Ryan waved to Jordan, and then turned and walked out of the lab. Jordan turned his focus back onto Lieutenant Jacob. “Well, we’d have to figure in the cost of the fabric and the padding, a fee for the design of the new uniform, and a cost per uniform for the process, so five hundred dollars for the design, assuming that you wanted about twenty new uniforms, it would probably cost about five hundred dollars per uniform.”

Jacob scribbled down some notes. “And if you just modified our uniforms? Assuming for the same number?”

Jordan closed his eyes for a second. “I’d still have to come up with a design for the padding, but I’d probably drop that down to two hundred and fifty dollars for the design, and about three hundred and fifty dollars a piece.”

Lieutenant Jacob scribbled down some more notes. “I’ll have to run these numbers past my captain, but I should be in touch before the end of the week.”

“That should be fine lieutenant, but if you don’t mind me asking, why the sudden interest in my technology?”

Lieutenant Jacob sighed. “It’s no secret that several police officers were injured trying to stop a robbery at Sam’s Electronics and Things, but that’s only part of the reason. You have heard about the Super Morpher, haven’t you.”

Jordan’s eyes opened wide. “I’ve heard of him, but I haven’t heard about him attacking the police at all.”

“Not openly, and not yet. There were two robberies yesterday, and I think that the Super Morpher organized them both.”

Jordan looked at Lieutenant Jacob confusedly. “I thought that he stopped the robberies though? Why would he organize them just to thwart them?”

“I think that he’s trying to build himself up as a hero, to get the people on his side so that he can pull off a huge robbery. Don’t you think it was a coincidence that he just so happened to show up at both of the robbery sites?”

Jordan shook his head. “I think you’re too suspicious of him. I think he’s just a good guy trying to do good things for the community. Shouldn’t you be trying to work with him instead of against him?”

Lieutenant Jacob frowned. “I don’t understand how everyone is so willing to trust this guy. You’ll all see eventually.” His eyes took on a faraway look as if he was daydreaming.

“So your captain wants new body armor because you are paranoid about the Super Morpher?”

Lieutenant Jacob shook his head. “Huh? What? No, my captain thinks that the city is about to be hit by a gang war. He wants to make sure that the police are equipped to deal with it, and bullet proof uniforms sound pretty good to us.”

Jordan’s eyes opened wide in shock. You think a gang war is coming? Shouldn’t you be alerting citizens and starting an evacuation?”

“We only have theories for now, so until we know for certain we don’t want to cause a panic.”

Jordan nodded. “I’ll start working on a design for your uniforms right away, so I’ll be able to start making them as soon as you tell me what route you want to take.”

“Thank you, Jordan, I’ll be in touch as soon as we reach a decision. Do you have a number that I can reach you at?”

Jordan grabbed a piece of paper and started scribbling his phone number on it. He handed over to Lieutenant Jacob. “Here, you should be able to reach me at that phone number. Is there anything else I can help you with today, Lieutenant Jacob?”

Lieutenant Jacob took the piece of paper from Jordan. “No, I think that should do it for today. Thank you for your cooperation, Mr. Schara.” Lieutenant Jacob tipped his hat to Jordan and walked out of his lab.

Jordan stuck his head out of the door and watched Lieutenant Jacob walk down the hall. He walked back into his lab and picked up his cell phone and called Ryan. Ryan’s voice came back over the phone. “Hey, is he gone yet?”

“He is, and you need to get back here right away. I just heard rumors about a possible gang war in the city, and we have some work to do.

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more of it, come back on Wednesday when I will publish part two, and check out the other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination, check out my facebook page connect with me and give me some feedback: Facebook, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read.Also, if you enjoy reading my stories, and you enjoy drawing, I’m looking for pictures of my characters. If you want to send me your fan art, I promise to include it with some of my posts! I look forward to seeing that art!

Leave a Reply

