Ahir, Guardian of Malor, Chapter 14: Rushing Through the Portal Part 3

Milton ran at the light, expecting there to be resistance like when they entered the portal, but he passed easily through the light and found himself in a building unlike any other he had ever seen. Pillars made up of three columns of stone braided together lined a carpet that the closest word that Milton could find to describe it was red, but that didn’t come close to describing it, and it had beautiful patterns woven into it in more colors that Milton couldn’t comprehend. Then his eyes fell upon the creatures that stood staring at him and the portal.

Tall, lanky creatures stood around the room in long draping robes of various hues pointed at him and whispered to those near them. Their faces were the only part of their skin that was exposed, and it was a soft creamy white, with two lines of lilac purple that started at the top of their head, passed over their eyes and continued down their necks. Fear filled their large eyes with iris’ that ranged in color from green, to lilac, to yellow, and they all took a step back away from him.

One of the creatures that was seated upon a golden throne with a teal band decorated with stones of glowing green and yellow around his head stood up and took a step forward. “Sil’abo, who are these strangers that you return with? I do not recognize the young female with you that is dressed so scandalously.”

Milton turned to see who the creature was was talking about, and jumped in surprise to see a creature that looked just like the others around the room, except instead of robes, it was dressed in blue jeans that were far too short for it and and a tight fitting red blouse that accentuated its ample bosom, meaning that this one was clearly female. Another of the creatures that was standing close to Milton turned and startlement crossed his face once once his eyes landed upon the female, and then he smiled. “I did not expect you to take on the form of my people, Trixie. I expected something more like Milton perhaps.” The creature, which Milton was assuming was Sil’abo, turned and faced the creature that had addressed him. “I return with ill tidings, my lord. Lang’kahn has corrupted Ahir, and he brought him and the Gladio Protegat to our world. I brought the other two chosen to try and thwart his plans. This is Trixie, bearer of the Escudo Spegel, and this is Milton, bearer of the Powaga Joursi.”

The creature by the golden throne walked up to Trixie and Milton, and bowed down to one knee. “I must thank you for efforts you have put into protecting my people. It was not easy for me to ask for aid, especially from a people that I did not know, but you have done well. Your appearance is a surprise though. I did not expect to find a human with a heart like an Aureus’Aevum. Your visit is well timed, for my son has begun his assault on the city.”

Sil’abo reached for the arm of the man kneeling before them and tried to raise him up to his feet. “What is he doing, Sire?”

King Dar’dou stood up to his feet. “He has been sending monsters, much like this creature, Milton I believe you called him, to attack the city. Some of the citizens have lashed out at them with magic, and I’m afraid that more of our people have fallen under Lang’kahn’s influence as a result of it. Perhaps we can start with taking care of them?”

Milton shook his head. “No, that would be a mistake. We have to ignore the monsters for now.”

The king gasped. “But they are destroying our city! This city has stood since my great, great grandfather founded it!”

Milton growled, “They are just buildings! Buildings can be rebuilt, but your people can’t! These monsters have been put here to distract us, we can’t allow any delay in our attack against Lang’kahn.”

The Aureus’Aevum around the room gasped and started to murmur angrily to one another. Dar’dou raised up his hand. “Silence! This creature is right. As much as it pains me, we can rebuild once peace has returned to us. I will listen to what he has to say.”

Milton looked confused. “You keep saying creature, what did I end up turning into?”

Trixie held up the polished surface of her shield. “You can get a look at yourself on this.”

Milton turned and looked into the mirror, and gasped. He was covered in tan fur from head to toe, and had claws at the ends of his fingers. He had the head of a lion and a golden mane that circled his neck, and one golden eye that seemed to glow stared back at him. “I got turned into a cat? You get to turn into an Aureus’Aevum and I turned into a cat man?”

Trixie smiled. “You’re a lion, it’s a good look for you.”

Dar’dou cleared his throat. “I believe that you were going over strategies for defeating Lang’kahn?”

Milton turned back to face the room. “We have to attack Lang’kahn directly, it is the only way we will be able to end this is if we can get the Gladio Protegat back from him and kill him with it.”

Dar’dou’s face fell. “Is there no way to end this without ending the life of my son?”

Sil’abo gave the king a sympathetic look. “I’m certain that we can find a peaceful way to resolve this. Perhaps we could just capture him?”

Milton shook his head. “No, the only way this ends is if Lang’kahn is dead. As long as he is alive his magic and followers will destroy this kingdom to free him.”

A tear formed in Dar’dou’s eye. “Is that to be my legacy, the thing I am remembered by? Being the only king to outlive my son?” Murmurs filled the room, filled with outrage and anger.

Milton growled. “We don’t have time to worry about that now! Every moment we delay makes Lang’kahn’s victory surer!”

One of the other Aureus’Aevum in the room shouted out, “Why should we listen to a horrible looking creature like you?”

Trixie stepped forward. “Please, we are only trying to help you save as many of your people as we can!”

More Aureus’Aevum started to shout out their complaints. Dar’dou roared out, “We are going to do what they have to say! They have been fighting our war with Lang’kahn this whole time while we quivered in fear hoping they would fix our problems! I will not reject their ideas now!” Silence fell over the room and the king looked at Milton. “Tell us what you need from us, and it will be given to you. Just promise me you will shead as little blood as you can.”

Milton nodded. “We need to get to wherever Lang’kahn is hiding, and get the sword from him before he can remove the protection spell that makes it so that only Ahir can wield it.”

One of the Aureus’Aevum in the room interrupted, “He’s not exactly hiding, he’s in his palace in the Tarwin district.”

Milton nodded. “Trixe and I are going to need someone to show us where that is, and that brings me to the next part of my plan. We need some of your people to volunteer to fight alongside of us.”

Roars of outrage filled the room, and one Aureus’Aevum stepped forward and angrily said, “We’re not barbarians like you humans! We don’t know the first thing about fighting!”

Milton growled back, “You expect to be able to sit back and let others fight your battles for you? You thrust your problems onto strangers, insult us, and expect us to fix everything for you? You are cowards and snobs!”

Shocked gasps filled the room. King Dar’bou turned and faced his people. “He is right, this is our problem. It always has been, and by us pushing our problems onto others we have brought them pain and misery.” He turned back to Milton. “They are right as well. We are not fighters, what use could we possibly be to you?”

“Your people cannot die, can’t even be injured. Who knows how many followers Lang’kahn has out there that will try to stop us? The two of us would never be able to make it through alone, but with others there to distract them we might be able to make it. It’s the best chance we have of winning this.”

Sil’abo stepped forward. “I will fight alongside you and Trixie, Milton. I’m sure many of my people will join me in doing our part to save our world.” The room was filled with hushed whispers, and Sil’abo blushed. “Perhaps many others that are not currently in this room?”

Dar’dou stepped forward. “I will join you also, and I will spread an edict through the city asking for volunteers.”

Milton shook his head. “I cannot accept your offer of aid, your majesty. If Lang’kahn is able to capture you or kill you with the Gladio Protegat, then your people will be left without a leader.”

The king sighed. “You are right. Sil’abo, as my scribe take down this proclamation that all of our people are to gather before the palace for an announcement I am to make immediately, and have it distributed.”

Sil’abo bowed. “Immediately, sire.” He quickly left the room calling for a quill and parchment.

A bulky looking Aureus’Aevum stepped forward and bowed before the king. “I may have some other items that could be of use in this upcoming battle, sire.”

Dar’dou smiled. “Of couse, that is an excellent suggestion. This is Laz’krit, our master blacksmith. Please follow him to his vault of artifacts and see if you can find any that would be of use to you.”

Laz’krit turned and led the way out of the throne room and led them down a series of halls. Trixie and Milton stared in wonder at the wonders that decorated the halls, from the murals and statues, to the wall hangings and pottery, each was more beautiful and vibrant than any artwork they had ever seen. Laz’krit turned and smiled at the two of them. “Have you enjoyed using two of my masterpieces?”

Milton and Trixie looked up startled. Milton looked at the bow in his hand. “This bow is incredible, and it has saved my life in many fights.”

Trixie smiled back. “Nothing can hurt my friends as long as I have this shield. I am very grateful for it.”

Laz’krit nodded. “Good, good. Now, what kind of an artifact were the two of you looking for?”

Milton closed his eye in concentration. “I think that something that would give us improved mobility would be best, unless you have anything that could protect us from magic.”

Laz’krit shook his head. “I’m afraid the pretty lady has the only thing I made that would protect you from magic.” Trixie blushed. “I think I may have a couple of pieces that could help you with your other request, however.” Laz’krit stopped in front of a large metallic door with a lock on it, but Milton couldn’t tell what kind of metal it was made from. Laz’krit pulled out a key and put it into the lock. He turned the key and pushed the door open, and once he did, the room it revealed lit up, and showed a vault filled with shelves with items sitting on it. Milton walked in and looked around in amazement. “This is like a museum! Is this everything you have ever made?”

Laz’krit walked in after him and chuckled. “Certainly not. This only holds my creations that have special abilities, which is only a fraction of my work. I mostly work on making art and useful things, like tools and building supplies. I do get bored once in a while however, and when I do, that’s when I make something wonderful.” Laz’krit walked deeper into the vault and Milton and Trixie followed him. He stopped in front of a shelf and picked up a pair of gauntlets and handed them to Milton. “Try these on.”

Milton put the gauntlets on, and he looked at them in confusion. “What do these do?”

A smile cracked Laz’krit’s face. “Try jumping with them on once.”

Milton jumped into the air, but he never came back down. He looked at the gauntlets in amazement. “These let me fly? This is incredible! I’ll be able to find much better places to snipe with my bow with these!”

Laz’krit laughed. “I thought you would like those. I thought that maybe some architects would appreciate being able to have a different view of their work once in a while, but they weren’t interested in them or the effort it would take to learn to use them. So into my vault with all the others they went.” Laz’krit walked deeper into his vault, and took a helmet off of a dummy. “Try this on miss.”

Trixie took the helmet and placed it on her head. “What is this supposed to do?”

“Be careful with it, but try running once.”

Trixie turned and ran back down the aisle they had just come down, and the shelves and artifacts rushed past her in a blur. She stopped, amazed. “These give me super speed? I might be able to protect everyone with my shield if I can move this fast!”

Laz’krit nodded his head. “That’s the idea of it. Made that for the king’s messengers. They couldn’t think of any decrees that would need to be spread that fast, so they refused it. I’m glad to see some of these things are finally starting to see some use again.

Milton smiled. “Thank you for these, the will make a big difference in the battle to come.”

Laz’krit smiled and nodded his head. “I hope so. I’m going to stick around here and see if I can’t find any more artifacts that might come in handy. You should be able to find a servant that will take you to where the king is giving his decree outside of the vault. Good luck in the coming battle, and I hope that with the aid of my artifacts we will meet again one day.”

Trixie smiled back. “I hope so too.”

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more like it, come back on Monday when I will publish part one of chapter 4 of Rebellion on Aquore, come back tomorrow when I will have all of chapter 14 for you, and Sunday for an update video on what happened previously in chapter 3 of Rebellion on Aquore, and a glimpse of what is going to happen in chapter 4. Check out the other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination, check out my facebook page connect with me and give me some feedback: Facebook, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read. Also, if you enjoy reading my stories, and you enjoy drawing, I’m looking for pictures of my characters. If you want to send me your fan art, I promise to include it with some of my posts! I look forward to seeing that art!

Leave a Reply

