Rebellion on Aquore, Chapter 4: The Mysterious Masked Rescuer Part 3

Scott’s white lab coat flowed behind him as he stormed through the laboratory located on the south side of Hope’s Landing. A group of scientists stood in a circle comparing notes on clipboards. The group hushed as Scott approached and all turned to face him. The scientist in the front of the group smiled at Scott. “Mr. Daley, I think you will be pleased with the latest test results we’ve had with our new mining suits.”

Scott scowled and interrupted him. “Is that what you call what went on up at the Pedestal last night? A test?”

The scientist looked at Scott with confusion. “The Pedestal? We were doing tests out in the wastelands last night. What happened at the Pedestal?”

Scott scoffed. “You mean you haven’t heard? Someone broke into the Pedestal, took out every guard that got in his way, and caused considerable damage to the building itself. Parliament is furious and has their Enforcers out for blood this morning.”

The lead scientist pushed his glasses further up his nose and snorted. “I can assure you it wasn’t done with any of our equipment. The only prototype that was missing from the lab this morning is the one that you took home to inspect.”

Scott looked away. “Yes. About that, the prototype seems to have gone missing.”

The scientist dropped his clipboard. “What?! You lost it? How could you lose it? Do you have any idea what this could do to the company if a competitor got his hands on this? We need to rush the development and submit a patent on it right away.”

The lead scientist turned and started to walk away, but Scott grabbed his shoulder. “I’m afraid that the problem is more serious than that.” The scientist turned to face Scott. “If I am right, and our prototype was used in the attack on the Pedestal last night, the government will come after us.”

The lead scientist shrugged. “So? The prototype was stolen from us. We all have alibis for last night. Even if they do come after us they can only interrupt our work with an investigation.”

Scott sighed. “We are involved with some activities that I would rather not come to light in the chance of an investigation. Things that would make us look very bad and land us in a lot of trouble.”

The scientist shook his head. “I never did approve of you aiding the rebellion. The small advantage that slowing the government’s mining operations isn’t worth the risk that being connected to them makes.”

Scott frowned. “That isn’t for you to decide, Don. You are supposed to do your job and smile, and leave the planning to me. That is what you are paid for.” Don frowned back at Scott. “I want you to scrap all information and research we have on the new mining equipment, and I want the prototypes destroyed and buried in the wastelands.”

Don sputtered. “What? Do you have any idea the amount of time and money that went into developing this technology? Do you have any idea the advantage you want to throw away?”

Scott growled, “I know exactly what has gone into this device. I also know the risk involved with continuing this project. The guards were able to get a pretty good description of what the device on the intruder’s arm looked like. How difficult do you think it would be for them to connect this device back to us? We scrap the project until this all blows over, and then we can resurrect it.”

Don quivered in rage. “If you wouldn’t insist on inspecting each and every little thing that we made, this wouldn’t have happened! It’s not like you understand how any of this works anyway!”

Scott’s eyes narrowed, and he said in a low, quiet voice, “Would you ever talk to my father in this way?”

Don scowled back. “No,Harold Daley would understand what we were working on. He started this company with his brilliant mind, but he made a mistake when he put you in charge of the mining operation here on Aquore!”

Scott laughed. “Not as big of a mistake as you just made, Don. Clean out your locker, I want you off of the premises in an hour. After that, I’m calling the Enforcers to have you removed.” Scott turned to look at one of the other quivering scientists. He pointed at the one standing at the back of the group. “What’s your name?”

The scientist looked to the other scientists for help, but they all moved away from him and and avoided his gaze. He was able to stammer out, “M-m-my name? I’m Lawrence Bolle.”

Scott nodded. “Do you disagree with my decision, Lawrence?”

Lawrence shook his head. “No, I think you are doing what is best for the company.”

Scott smiled. “Good. You are my new head scientist, all of you report to Lawrence now. Can I count on you to dump the research and destroy the prototypes?”

Lawrence smiled back at Scott with confidence. “Yes, sir! The system will be scrubbed so clean that the Enforcers will only see their faces reflected back at them if they come looking.”

Scott nodded his head. “Good, good. I’m counting on it. After you have finished with that, I want you to send people out looking for whoever is responsible for this.”

Lawrence looked at Scott hesitantly. “If the Enforcers don’t know who did this, then how are we supposed to track him down?”

Scott frowned at him. “The Enforcers are all brawn, but you are all brain. I’m paying you because you have brilliant minds. Use them to track this person down and bring me the last prototype. As long as that device is out there, we are at risk. I think I might know who it was that stole the device, and if I’m right I want you to find him, and to kill him.”

Lawrence’ eyes opened wide. “Kill him! If we do that we really will have the Enforcers after us!”

Scott shook his head. “He poses too much of a risk to us and everything we’re working for here. He is a loose cannon, always wanting to strike out at the government rather than just subtly sabotaging them. No, I want you to investigate Tarren Sanderson, and if he is responsible, eliminate him and retrieve our stolen property. Do it discreetly though. We don’t need anyone looking at us when this is all finished.”

Sweat beaded on Lawrence’ forehead. “Of course, Mr. Daley. We will find whoever did this, and if it is this Tarren fellow, we’ll take care of him.”

Scott smiled. “Good. I knew I was making the right decision when I promoted you. Back to work everyone, we have much to do today!”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Don stormed out of the lab. “I’ve been working for this company since the beginning! Harold would never have treated me in such a way!” A mischievous smile crossed Don’s face. “They’re going to dump all the research anyway, and it did mostly come from my brilliant mind. I don’t suppose it would really be all that wrong for me to take a copy of my research with me, would it? This machine could be my ticket to a new job with a different company.”

Don rushed down the hall to his office, and sat down behind his desk. He pulled a disc out of the the top drawer and inserted it into his computer, and started copying files onto it. He turned the screen off and started to pick up his possessions and place them into a couple of boxes. There was a knock at his door frame and he looked up and saw Scott standing there. “I’m packing my things to leave, Scott. What more do you want from me?”

Scott smiled and stepped into the office. “Oh, I just wanted to apologize for what happened out there.”

Hope filled Don’s face. “Does this mean I get to keep my job?”

Scott analyzed his fingernails. “Afraid not. That would make me look weak in front of the other employees, but I am sorry that I had to use you as an example to the others, but I think everyone learned that they should respect me and obey my orders without question.”

Don scowled at Scott. “If that’s all you wanted then get out. I have lots of packing to do before the Enforcers come and remove me from the compound.” Don grabbed a picture of him and Harold Daley in front of the sign for their headquarters on Earth.

Scott frowned. “I came here to discuss your severance package. How much do you want to keep quiet about our prototypes? Name your price.”

Don laughed. “You think I would go and betray the company to the Enforcers? You don’t have to buy my…” Don paused and a smile crossed his face. “Five million quill and I won’t breathe a word about your prototypes to anyone.”

Scott’s eyes opened wide. “Five million quill? Are you sure that will be enough? Perhaps you would like to bankrupt us and ask for fifty million!”

“Five million quill, or I’ll sell everything I know to the highest bidder, and I’m sure I could get more than fifty million from government applications alone.”

Scott growled. “Fine, you can expect a deposit in two days. If you breathe a word of this to anyone, I will come down on you with enough legal actions to burn through that money. I still expect you out of here in an hour!” Scott turned and stormed out of the office.

Don turned on the screen and checked on the download. “Oh, you don’t have to worry about that. I’ll be out of here with everything that belongs to me long before that.”

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more like it, come back on Monday when I will publish part one of chapter 8 of The Super Morpher, come back tomorrow when I will have all of chapter 4 for you, and Sunday for an update video on what happened previously in chapter 7 of The Super Morpher, and a glimpse of what is going to happen in chapter 8. Check out the other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination, check out my facebook page connect with me and give me some feedback: Facebook, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read. Also, if you enjoy reading my stories, and you enjoy drawing, I’m looking for pictures of my characters. If you want to send me your fan art, I promise to include it with some of my posts! I look forward to seeing that art!

Leave a Reply

