Ahir, Guardian of Malor, Chapter 16: Lang’kahn’s Victory Part 3

Tears flowed down Trixie’s face as she charged at Lang’kahn. “That was your own father! How could you just kill him like that after he saved your life?”

Lang’kahn flicked his wrist and Trixie was thrown across the room by some unseen force. She crashed heavily into the wall and fell into a crumpled heap on the floor. Her shield dropped from limp fingers and clattered onto the stone floor. “No, Trixie!” Ahir shouted as he hurried to her side. He listened closely and heard that Trixie was still breathing.

Lang’kahn shook his head. “I hope now you see how foolish your attempts to stop me are. Take your friend and go, I will not give you another chance.”

Ahir picked up Trixie’s shield, turned and faced Lang’kahn. “I am Ahir, the Guardian of Malor, and I will defeat you.”

Lang’kahn shook his head. “I don’t understand, this isn’t your world, these aren’t your people; why do you care about what happens to them?”

Another piece of the cage slammed into the back of Lang’kahn’s head and he turned and growled at Milton. Milton raised his hand up to push his glasses further up his nose, and he smirked at him. “He’s a hero; that’s what heroes do.”

Lang’kahn formed a fireball in his hands and hurled it at Milton. Milton dodged the fireball and launched another set of arrows, sending another chunk of the cage flying at Lang’kahn. Ahir ran toward Milton as Lang’kahn fired a barrage of fireballs at him. Ahir was able to reach Milton in time to send one of the fireballs hurtling back at him.

The fireball struck Lang’kahn squarely in the chest and knocked him to the ground. He rose to his feet and glared at Ahir with a gaze that dripped venom and he snarled at him. Calmness spread over him, and he stood up and dusted himself off. “You must understand by now that this is pointless; you can’t harm me. I don’t have to kill you, I just have to wait until the seal is broken on my sword. My victory is inevitable and there is nothing you can do about it.” He sat down upon his throne. “Stick around if you wish. Once I have gathered my followers around me, I’ll deal with you.”

Ahir hung his head. “He’s right, we have to stop them from breaking the seal.”

Milton pulled back the string on his bow and took aim. “I’m already ahead of you.” He released his first arrow and it flew into the back of one of Lang’kahn’s followers. He smiled and fired a second arrow into the wall. The Aureus’Aevum shrieked as it was hurtled across the room and crashed into the wall.

Ahir grinned like a boy that has just gotten away with sneaking a cookie from under his mother’s nose. “They won’t be able to concentrate on the spell if they are being thrown around the room. Milton, you’re brilliant. Send one of them my way, I want to see what happens if they bounce off of the shield.”

Lang’kahn jumped out of his throne and a lightning bolt flew from his fingers at Milton. “Don’t let the human’s distract you! The seal on the sword must be broken!”

Ahir dashed up to Milton’s side and pushed the shield into Milton. The shield knocked Milton back and out of the way of the lightning bolt, but he groaned and clutched his ribs. The lightning bolt crashed into the wall and dust and bits of rock rained down onto Ahir. “Thanks for the save, but next time just push with your hands.”

The Gladio Protegat started to glow golden in Lang’kahn’s hands. It glowed brighter and brighter until Ahir and Milton had to shield their eyes from the light. The glow disappeared and one of Lang’kahn’s followers looked up and smiled. “The seal has been broken, Master.”

Lang’kahn shouted triumphantly at the ceiling, “The hour of my victory has arrived!” He turned and glared at Ahir and began slowly stalking toward him. “I must congratulate you. You have managed to delay this moment far longer than I had thought any human capable of. I hope that this is a suitable reward for such a feat?” He swung the sword down at Ahir.

Ahir raised his shield and the sword bounced harmlessly off of it. The force of the swing reflected back on itself almost sent the sword flying, but Lang’kahn hung on to it and was sent staggering several steps back to avoid being knocked over. Lang’kahn hissed, “Another of Laz’krit’s annoying artifacts. I doubt you will give me much trouble once I rid you of it.” Lang’kahn flicked his wrist once more and sent the shield flying from Ahir’s grasp and pinning it to the wall.

Milton watched in horror as a victorious smile filled Lang’kahn’s face and he pulled his arm back to swing the sword down at Ahir. Milton pulled the string back on his bow and fired an arrow at the sword. Lang’kahn lifted his hand and the arrow disappeared before it reached the sword. He spared Milton a look. “Did you really think that I wouldn’t anticipate you trying to shoot the sword out of my hands? Patience, Milton. I’ll take care you after I have finished with Ahir.”

Milton looked around the room in desperation and saw the Escudo Spegel pinned to the wall. He had taken some crazy shots in his time with the Powaga Joursi, but this one was almost impossible, and he was only going to get one shot at it. He fired an arrow onto the reflective surface of the shield, and immediately fired a second arrow into the ground next to him.

Lang’kahn swung the sword down at Ahir and the arrow crashed into the sword in mid swing, and it was instantly pulled across the room to land at Milton’s feet. Lang’kahn scrambled after the sword. Milton bent over and picked up the sword and drove the point into Lang’kahn’s chest as he dove for the sword. Lang’kahn’s eyes opened wide in shock, and he gasped out, “You don’t understand, I could have done great things for my people, greater than any king before me!” Lang’kahn’s body broke down into dust and blew out one of the windows in the room.

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more like it, come back on Monday when I will publish part one of chapter 6 of Rebellion on Aquore, come back tomorrow when I will have all of chapter 16 for you, and Sunday for an update video on what happened previously in Rebellion on Aquore, and a glimpse of what is going to happen in chapter 6. Check out the other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination, check out my facebook page connect with me and give me some feedback: Facebook, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read, and don’t forget to check out my newly published book, The Kids on the Case: Our First Case. You can buy a copy of your own here:The Kids on the Case: Our First Case.

Leave a Reply

