Rebellion on Aquore, Chapter 6: Plans and Revelations Part 3

Tarren walked into the kitchen of the orphanage with a far away look in his eyes. Eugene looked up from the newspaper that he was reading and frowned at Tarren. “Did you forget the bread at Obediah’s again?”

Tarren dropped onto a stool and started muttering, “It’s all my fault. It’s all happening because of me.”

Eugene’s frown turned into a look of concern and he walked over to Tarren and patted him on the back. “What’s your fault Tarren? What are you talking about?”

Tears formed in Tarren’s eyes and he looked at Eugene. “Obediah won’t be giving us any more bread, not for a while if ever again.”

Eugene’s eyes opened wide in alarm. “Did something happen to Obediah?”

“The government increased everyone’s taxes to the point where most shops can’t afford to stay open, and those that can are charging an insane amount for their goods.”

Eugene growled, “I don’t see how that could be your fault, it’s that darn Masked Man’s fault! I was just reading in the paper about how he attacked a mine last night and got into a fight with the Enforcers. Fifteen of them died last night, and another twenty were injured. He seems like a brute intent on the destruction of this planet. All those poor miners are without a job now until the mines can be reopened.”

Tarren started sobbing. “I wanted to help the people, to send a message to the government that they couldn’t oppress us any longer! I didn’t want anything like this to happen!”

Eugene looked at Tarren in shock. After a few moments of silence, he moved over to the doors and made sure that no one was close enough to overhear anything they said before he growled out, “Do you mean to tell me that you are that Masked Man?”

Tarren nodded his head. “When Kyle was captured by the Enforcers and the rebellion’s rescue party was captured, I went looking for help. I found this glove that gave me incredible strength in my right arm, so I broke into the Pedestal and rescued everyone. I saw how upset it made the government and I thought that if I did another attack, they would be more lenient on the people and things would get better. I didn’t want any of this to happen!”

Eugene stared at Tarren in silence for a couple of minutes before he finally said, “You have been in the rebellion this whole time, even after what they did to your parents?”

Tarren said in between sobs, “My parents are dead because of the government! The rebellion had nothing to do with it!”

Eugene slapped Tarren in the face. “What do you mean the rebellion had nothing to do with it? Don’t you realize that if the rebellion hadn’t been attacking the Enforcers that they never would have lashed back like that? That if they weren’t part of the rebellion they wouldn’t have been near that massacure? Tarren, I have done my best to keep you safe ever since you came to this orphanage; I loved you like I would my own son! And you have repaid me by trying to get yourself killed! Do you have any idea what could have happened to the orphanage if you were caught?”

Tarren sniffled. “I was being careful.”

Eugene threw his hands up. “Careful? You killed fifteen men last night! I don’t care what the Enforcers did to you or your parents, that’s fifteen lives that you ended. I raised you better than that, Tarren!”

Tarren crossed his arms and sulked. “I couldn’t just sit around and do nothing like everyone else. I wanted to make things better for everyone on the planet.”

Eugene rolled his eyes. “How did that work out for you?” Tarren turned and glared at Eugene. Eugene sighed. “Don’t worry, we’ll find some way to fix this. Have you spoken to the leader of your rebellion about what you did? Perhaps he would have an idea or two of how to calm things down.”

Tarren flinched. “That may not be the best idea. I already met with him as the Masked Man to try and get the rebellion involved in my plans, and he threatened to kill me if I went through with them.”

Eugene started massaging his temples. “Does he know you are the Masked Man?”

Tarren shook his head. “You are the only one that knows besides me. I’ve been keeping it quiet and trying to feel out people’s attitudes towards the Masked Man before I tell them.”

Eugene smiled. “Well, God be praised that you had enough common sense to keep it to yourself. If talking with your leader isn’t an option, perhaps you should have a talk with Troy? He might be able to help you find a way to resolve this peacefully without too much backlash.”

Tarren sniffled and said, “That’s a good idea. If anyone would know how to smooth things over with the government, it would be Troy.”

Eugene nodded his head. “After you get a chance to speak with Troy, we can figure out our next move. Before you do that, we should pray for the Lord’s guidance through this ordeal.”

Tarren wiped away his tears. “I think that would be a good place to start.”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Tarren sat in the coffee shop and nervously took a sip of his coffee. The bell over the door chimed and he jumped and turned to see who had entered the shop. It wasn’t Troy, just another person who had decided that an overpriced cup of coffee was an important thing to have during this economic crisis. Tarren was sure that this place would be deserted in another week or two once the higher prices really started to hit home.

The bell chimed once more and Tarren smiled when he saw Troy wearing one of his fancy black suits. His smile turned into a frown once he saw how tired his friend looked. “Troy, have you been getting enough sleep lately?”
Troy ran his hand through his hair and sat down across from Tarren. “No, the government has been meeting almost nonstop the past two days trying to figure out how to deal with this Masked Man. I swear, if I ever get my hands on this fellow he’ll regret it.”

Tarren paused. “You hate the Masked Man that much?”

Troy growled and formed both of his hands into fists. “I loathe that man more than anyone else on this planet! Fifteen people are dead because of him, and many more are unemployed. This planet is going to fall apart if he isn’t caught soon!”

Tarren flinched. “You don’t think he was doing what he thought was best for the people?”

Troy grimmanced. “What? No! I don’t understand how you can possibly think like that. Can’t you see how much worse things have gotten for the people? If the Masked Man was interested in doing what was best for the people, he should turn himself in before this manhunt gets any worse!”

Tarren slowly nodded his head. “Yes, I can see how that would be for the best.”

Troy smiled at Tarren. “Sorry to come and dump my frustrations on you like this. What did you want to talk with me about?” Tarren had a far away look in his eyes and Troy cleared his throat. “Tarren? I don’t have a lot of spare time, so if you could tell me why you wanted to talk with me so urgently?”

Tarren jumped and looked at Troy in surprise. “What? Oh, yes. I wanted to ask you… if you had any suggestions on how the orphanage could make it through this. Obediah can’t afford to give us anymore of his scraps, and we need to find some way to feed the kids.”

Troy shrugged. “I’m not sure what to tell you, Tarren. Things are tough for everyone. I’ll try bringing it up at the Pedestal again and see if we can’t get some sort of special funding or something while this trouble with the Masked Man is going on. I have to go, but you watch out for yourself; the orphanage could be the Masked Man’s next target.”

Tarren weakly smiled. “I don’t know why he would attack us, but I’ll keep my eyes open for him.”

Troy stood up and pulled out his wallet. He handed Tarren a plastic card. “I know that a hundred quill won’t go as far as it used to, but use it to get some food for you and the kids, and I’ll do what I can to get you more.”

Tarren stood up and shook Troy’s hand. “Thanks, Troy. I knew I could count on you for help.”

Troy nodded his head. “I’ll do anything to help out my family, you know that, Tarren. Say hi to Eugene for me.” Troy walked out of the coffee shop, and Tarren stared at the closed door for five minutes, all the while trying to figure out what to do from here.

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more like it, come back on Monday when I will publish part one of chapter 10 of The Super Morpher, come back tomorrow when I will have all of chapter 6 for you, and Sunday for an update video on what happened previously in The Super Morpher, and a glimpse of what is going to happen in chapter 10. Check out the other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination, check out my facebook page connect with me and give me some feedback: Facebook, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read, and don’t forget to check out my newly published book, The Kids on the Case: Our First Case. You can buy a copy of your own here:The Kids on the Case: Our First Case.

Leave a Reply

