The Super Morpher, Chapter 10: The Spider’s Trap Part 1

Ryan dashed across the lab as the beam left the gun, and it became a race to see who could make it to Jordan first. Ryan dove at Jordan and managed to knock him out of the ray’s trajectory. The two of them crashed to the ground and the beam collided with a chair that was sitting in its path and the chair burst into flames. Ryan looked at the burning chair and then back at Jordan and growled, “You idiot! That could have been you! What were you thinking?”

Jordan struggled to push Ryan off of him and growled back, “This city needs a hero, and if you won’t do it, than I’m going to have to. Get off of me; I need to mix up another batch of that formula and try again.”

Ryan stared at Jordan in disbelief for a second before he punched him in the face. Blood trickled from Jordan’s nose as he stared at Ryan in shock. Ryan shook his head and said, “You have to give up on this superhero thing. It’s done. If you keep on like this you’re just going to kill yourself and rob the world of one of the greatest minds it has ever known.”

Jordan sighed and said, “Get off of me, I have to put that fire out before it sets the alarm off.”

Ryan helped Jordan up to his feet and smiled. “Guess what happened after the game today? A scout from the Botay Boars said that if I play well next week, I’m pretty much guaranteed to be drafted by them. Who knows what other teams might compete over me?”

Jordan pulled the fire extinguisher off of the wall and sprayed the fire. He replied sarcastically, “That’s just great, Ryan. Maybe the gangs will leave the football stadiums alone and you’ll actually get to play in them someday.” The chair continued to smoke once the fire was out, and Jordan hung the fire extinguisher back up on the wall. “If that’s all you wanted to tell me, I have some calculations to go over.”

Ryan sighed, “Jordan, won’t you please give this up?”

Jordan was about to reply when there was a knock at the door. Both of the boys turned their heads to see Lieutenant Jacob standing in the doorway. “Is this a bad time?”

Jordan spared Ryan a glance and shook his head. “Not at all, what can I do for you today, Lieutenant Jacob?”

Lieutenant Jacob entered the room and spared the smoldering chair a glance and shrugged. “I just stopped by to check how those new uniforms you were designing for us were coming along. With all the craziness going on in the city, we’d like to have our officers protected as best as we can.”

Jordan nodded his head. “I’ve been a bit distracted lately, but I do have most of them done. I can have the last five done for you by Monday though. Are things really as bad in the city as the news it making them look?” Jordan shot Ryan a quick glare before turning his attention back onto Lieutenant Jacob.

Lieutenant Jacob shook his head. “Keep this between us, but we haven’t allowed the news to fully report the situation. If people knew just how bad things really were, everyone would panic. Who knows how much damage the city would sustain if that happened. I’ve never been a fan of that Super Morpher guy, but I have to admit that he did do more good than I gave him credit for. Heck, I might even become a fan of his if he would just come back and clean up this mess he left the city in.”

Jordan nodded his head. “I agree. I wish he would stop being a coward and come back; the city needs a hero to protect it.”

Ryan flinched as if he had been slapped in the face, but before he could respond a distorted voice was projected from Lieutenant Jacob’s radio. “Greetings to all in Leforn City. I’m sure that many of you have noticed the rise in crime over the past week. This is a result of the Super Morpher’s cowardly disappearance. It is in the city’s best interest if he were to return, so here is his ultimatum: either appear on the front steps of city hall before noon on Monday, or all the gangs in the city will attack. I promise you that if the Super Morpher does not show up as directed, this city will be destroyed and its population reduced to nothing. I urge you therefore to encourage the Super Morpher to return if you know who he is. Don’t disappoint us, hero.”

Lieutenant Jacob’s eyes opened wide and he stared at his radio in shock. “Is this guy for real? Jordan, I’m going to need the uniforms that you have ready right away, and if you can get the rest to us as soon as you can, we’d appreciate it. We’re going to have to call in the Zimmdaran guard in case the Super Morpher is a no show.”

Jordan jumped from his seat and grabbed two cardboard boxes from a different table. “Of course, I’ll do my best to get the uniforms to you Monday morning at the latest.”

Lieutenant Jacob took the boxes from Jordan and hurried toward the door. Ryan watched him leave, and once he was sure that he wouldn’t overhear, Ryan hesitantly said, “I guess I have no choice now; it’s time for the Super Morpher to return.”

Jordan smiled excitedly and pulled open one of the drawers on his desk and grabbed something. He eagerly ran across the room and thrust the object into Ryan’s hands. “I was hoping to hear you say that. Go ahead, put it back on.”

Ryan looked down at what Jordan had given him and saw the watch that would give him his suit. Ryan gave Jordan a weak smile and pushed the watch back into Jordan’s hands. “I was hoping that you would make me a new uniform. I want this one to have a white handprint in the middle of the chest, and your new utility belt that you had made for me.”

Jordan accepted the watch back and nodded his head slowly. “Sure, I can make those changes for you, but why do you want the handprint added?”

Ryan looked down at the palm of his hand. “I can turn into whatever I touch with the palm of my hand, so that’s the source of my powers. I want to turn that into a symbol that will represent me and give the people hope whenever they see it.”

Jordan smiled and nodded his head. “I should be able to have that done by tomorrow morning if I pull an all nighter.”

Ryan nodded his head. “That’s fine, I have some things I need to take care of before I go to city hall anyway. I’ll bring you by some coffee later.”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Ryan walked down the hall of the school toward the coaches office, and waved at the other students that called out their congratulations on the game and how excited they were to see him back on the team. He was about to go from the beloved football player to the most hated kid in his school. He wished that he had never given up being the Super Morpher in the first place. At least back then people were just upset with him for quitting the team.

He wondered if he could put off telling his parents about him quitting again for a couple of weeks. That was a conversation that he wasn’t looking forward to having. His dad would probably disown him or drag him home or something, and he could already feel his mother’s guilt trip coming. There had to be some benefit for him choosing the hero’s life over the football star’s, right?

Ryan took a deep breath and knocked on the door to his coach’s office. “Come in!”
Ryan pushed the door open and stepped inside. The coach looked up and smiled at Ryan. “There’s my star player! What can I do for you?”

Ryan cleared his throat and looked away from the coach’s desk. “I just wanted to thank you for give me another opportunity to join the team. Unfortunately something has come up and I’m going to have to quit again.”

The coach stared at Ryan in shock for a moment, his mouth working soundlessly. After a few moment’s he started laughing. “Good one, Ryan. You really had me going there for a second. What did you really want to talk about?”

Ryan shrank under his coaches stare. “I’m sorry, but that was what I needed to talk to you about.”

The coach shook his head. “Do you have any idea how much this team struggles when you aren’t there, or how unheard of it was that I let you rejoin the team, or have your starting position back? You aren’t quitting this team again, son. No, you’ll be at practice Monday afternoon if one of the assistant coaches has to drag you there. Do you understand me?”

Ryan stood up straight and stared the coach down. “Do you think this is an easy choice for me to make? Do you think I would be quitting this game I love to play, or throwing away my chance to play in the pros if it wasn’t for an important reason? I am quitting this team, and there isn’t anything you can do to stop me.”

The coach looked at Ryan shocked, and finally said, “At least tell me why you’re quitting. Maybe I can help.”

Ryan shook his head. “It’s a personal matter, and you couldn’t help me even if it wasn’t. Good bye, coach, good luck on the rest of the season.” Ryan turned and walked out of the office.

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Ryan stood in the hallway of Becky’s apartment building and nervously knocked on the door. This was going to be harder to do than quitting the football team was. He wished he could put this off for a while yet, but he knew that in order for him to have a chance of getting Kari to agree to be his girlfriend, he was going to have to end it sooner or later. What better time to wipe his slate clean and start over than when he was resurrecting the Super Morpher? He just hoped that Becky wouldn’t cry. He wasn’t sure if he could say no if she cried.

Samantha pulled the door open and saw Ryan standing in the hallway. She glared at him and said, “You haven’t been around much lately. Come to kick me out?”

Ryan shook his head. “No, I just need to talk to Becky, I promise that I won’t be here long.”

Samantha looked at Ryan suspiciously and opened the door completely to allow him inside. “She’s in her bedroom.”

Ryan walked into the apartment and looked hesitantly at Becky’s bedroom door. He walked across the carpet and knocked on Becky’s door. Becky’s voice was muffled by the door when she called out, “Who is it?”

Ryan cleared his throat and responded, “It’s Ryan, Becky.”

Ryan heard pounding on the other side of the door moments later and the door flew open to reveal a smiling Becky. “Ryan! I’m so glad to see you! Great job in the game today!”

Ryan weakly returned her smile. “Hi, Becky. I need to talk to you about something.” He glanced over at Samantha who was glaring at him. “Can we talk inside of your room for a little bit?”

Becky smiled and backed up to let Ryan in and closed the door behind him. “What is it that you wanted to talk about, Ryry?” She smiled deviously at him, “Or was that just a ploy to get us alone for a bit?”

Ryan sat down on Becky’s bed and sighed. “There is no easy way to say this, but I think that we should see other people.”

Becky looked at Ryan in shock and tears formed in her eyes. “You’re breaking up with me? But why?”

Ryan looked away from her and swallowed hard. “Things were just moving too fast between us.”

Tears ran down Becky’s cheek and she said, “We can slow down if you want. You don’t have to move in with me, I just thought it would be nice for you to be around more. Please don’t do this, Ryan! I’ll do anything you want, just don’t break up with me!”

Tears formed in Ryan’s eyes. “I’m really sorry, Becky. You deserve a better guy than me, someone that will have more time to spend with you. I should go.”

Ryan got off of the bed and Becky reached out and grabbed his hand. “Ryan, please don’t go. We can work this out. I’ve been too clingy, I can change! Please, don’t leave me.”

Ryan pulled his hand free and opened the door. “I’m sorry, Becky, it’s over.” Becky fell to the floor sobbing as she watched Ryan walk out of the apartment.

Samantha rushed over to Becky’s side and embraced her. “Don’t worry, Becky, it’ll be alright. We’ll make him pay for thinking he can leave you like that.”

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more of it, come back on Wednesday when I will publish part two, and check out the other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination, check out my facebook page to connect with me and give me some feedback: Facebook, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read, and don’t forget to check out my new book, The Kids on the Case! You can find it here: The Kids on the Case: Our First Case

Leave a Reply

