Ahir, Guardian of Malor, Chapter 17: Returning Home Part 3

Laz’krit made his way through the dining hall with a box tucked under one of his arms and a bag with bulges sticking out of it over his shoulder. He dodged servers with trays of empty plates and bowls until he reached Bar’duo’s side. He held the box out to Bar’duo and bowed, “The medals you requested, sire.”

“Ah, very good.” Bar’duo accepted the box from Laz’krit and eyed the bag suspiciously. “And what is in there?”

Laz’krit touched the bag over his shoulder and smiled. “Milton asked if he could take some of my artifacts back with him, and I selected a few that he may find useful.”

Bar’duo raised an eyebrow. “Useful? Whatever for?”

Laz’krit shrugged. “He said something about being able to use them to make a difference in his world. I’m just happy that someone will finally be using my masterpieces.”

Bar’duo nodded his head. “Yes, I have greatly come to regret that Dar’duo didn’t find more of a use for your artifacts, after my time with the humans I certainly have come to appreciate them more.” Bar’duo looked down at his half filled plate of food and pushed it aside. “Milton must be getting anxious to return to his world. I suppose I shouldn’t put this off any longer.” Bar’duo rose to his feet and said in a loud voice, “I believe it is time to say farewell to Milton, any who wish to come and say their thanks and goodbyes may join us, otherwise continue your feasting.”

Bar’duo’s family and Laz’krit followed Bar’duo through the dining hall toward the throne room. Ahir, Trixie, and Milton joined them once they had made it halfway across the hall, and before they had made it to the doors a handful of others joined them. Bar’duo made his way to the raised section of the floor that his throne rested upon and he turned to look out at those gathered before him.

He smiled at his family, Bec’tina and Kahl’kahn, and he cleared his throat. “I want to thank you all for coming here to say thank you to these three humans who have sacrificed so much to save us. Their world is so different from ours, filled with violence and poverty, corruption and despair, and at a glance they appear to be little more than savages. I have lived among them, and I have learned first hand that there is so much more to humans that what meets the eye. They are a courageous race, and there is much kindness in those that I encountered.”

Sil’abo interrupted Bar’duo, “I thought we were here to say thank you for their service! At the rate you’re going they’ll be dead of old age before you get to it!”

Bar’duo glared at Sil’abo and shook his head. “Yes, very well.” He pulled the lid off of the box containing the medals and pulled them out. “These medals were formed from the Gladio Protegat, the only weapon ever created that could harm our people. May they serve as a reminder of the courageous acts of selflessness performed by these heroes. Friends, please step forward and receive your medals.”

Milton approached Bar’duo and Ahir and Trixie formed a line behind him. Bar’duo put a medal around Milton’s neck and smiled at him. “Thank you for your service to our people, you and your deeds shall ever be remembered. I only regret that Tor’jahd kept you from working with us.”

Milton smiled and moved over to make room for Ahir. Bar’dou looped the medal around Ahir’s neck. “Thank you for your service, you and your deeds shall ever be remembered. You taught me much about honor and sacrifice during my time with you, ever will you be welcome in my palace.”

Ahir bowed his head and made room for Trixie to step forward. Bar’dou placed the medal around her neck and smiled at her. “Thank you for your service, you and your deeds shall ever be remembered. You taught me great lessons in kindness and selflessness when you allowed Ahir and I to stay with you when our home burned down. My home shall ever be open to you should you find need for it.”

Laz’krit stepped forward and handed Milton the sack of artifacts he had brought with him. “I picked out four for you that you should find useful in your quest. I hope that they help to keep you safe for many years to come.”

Milton bowed his head. “Thank you, I will make sure that they are put to good use.” Milton turned to face Ahir and Trixie. “I guess this is it. Are you sure you want to stay? I could use some help protecting the city, and I’m sure Laz’krit could find more artifacts for you.”

Ahir shook his head. “This world has too many wonders to see to leave it behind so easily. Besides, I was only ever a homeless street performer in that world, there really isn’t anything for me to go back to.”

Trixie nodded her head. “Ahir’s right, I didn’t have anyone back home that will miss me too much. Besides, wherever Ahir goes, that’s where I’ll be too.”

Milton looked down at the floor and blinked back tears from his good eye. “This is goodbye then, I guess. I’ll never see either of you again once I close that portal.”

Bar’duo interrupted, “That’s not necessarily true. Our scholars are going to be looking into Lang’kahn’s journals from when he was first discovering magic. We hope that we have only temporarily lost access to magic, and it can be found once more.”

Milton shook his head. “By the time they figure it out I’ll probably be dead. Time moves a lot faster on my side of the portal.” Milton looked at Ahir and Trixie. “I wish you both lots of happiness, and I regret allowing Tor’jahd to turn me against you.” Milton put the sack over his shoulder and moved toward the portal.

Ahir put a hand on Milton’s shoulder and Milton turned around. Ahir gave Milton a hug and said, “You were there to save me when I needed you to, that is all that matters.”

Milton returned the hug. “Just returning the favor. I seem to remember you saving my life a few times as well.” Milton broke away and stepped through the portal, and a short time later the portal closed in a shimmer of blue.

Bar’duo looked away from the portal and wiped tears away from his eyes. “What of you two, when will you be leaving to do your exploring?”

Ahir shrugged. “Seems to me that there is plenty to explore in this city…” Trixie crossed her arms and stepped on Ahir’s foot. Ahir cleared his throat and continued, “Which is why we’ll return to see it soon! I’m afraid that we’re going to start our journey soon, perhaps as soon as tomorrow.” A satisfied smile filled Trixie’s face.

Trixie’s eye’s lit up in surprise. “Oh, that reminds me!” She reached into one of the pouches on her silver robe and pulled out a packet of seeds. “I know how much you enjoy apples, and that there weren’t any in your world, so I brought you some seeds so you can grow your own trees. I hope that they’ll grow here.”

Bar’duo’s eyes lit up with excitement. “Oh, what a marvelous gift! I’m certain that the royal gardeners will be able to make them grow, and I’ll be able to share the joy of apples with everyone! Thank you.” Bar’duo cleared his throat. “I”m afraid I can’t allow the two of you to leave without making sure you have a proper name. No, Ahir and Trixie certainly won’t do. What is it that the two of you wish to do here, other than explore?”

Ahir smiled and pulled out some juggling balls. “I’m an entertainer, that’s what I do best. I’m hoping to bring joy to everyone I meet with my skills. I’m going to teach Trixie how to as well.”

Bar’bou frowned. “You will be the first entertainers of your kind in our world; there isn’t a word for what you do. Perhaps we could turn your name into the word for it. Yes, from this day forward, you shall be known as Ahir’bohater and Trixie’bohater! How does that sound.”

Trixie got a dreamy look in her eyes, “That sound perfect, don’t you think so, Ahir?”

Ahir returned her smile. “Yes it does. Ahir’bohater and Trixie’bohater, together, exploring the world and bringing smiles to all.”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Milton stepped into the hospital and saw Daniel sitting in a chair in front of the door flipping through a magazine full of books. Milton cleared his throat and Daniel jumped and fell out of his chair. A smile crossed his face when he saw Milton. “Milton! You’re back! Where are the others?”

Milton hung his head. “I have some sad news, but I don’t want to share it until I have a chance to tell Detective Miguel. Can you take me to him?”

Daniel’s smile faded away and he looked at the floor. “Yeah, that won’t be a problem. You should probably close that portal before we leave though.”

Milton stared at the portal and hesitated. If he did this, then it was over. He would never see Ahir and Trixie again. He sighed and reached into the bag that was slung over his shoulder and pulled out his bow. He thrust it into the portal and the portal winked shut around it. He tucked the bow back into the bag and started for the door. “Let’s go.”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Milton followed Daniel into Detective Miguel’s office, and he saw three chairs set up across from Detective Miguel, one of them filled by Alicia. Detective Miguel gestured toward one of the chairs. “Milton, it is good to see you again. Officer Daniel said that there was something you wanted to speak with me about? Something to do with Ahir and Trixie? Did something happen to them?”

Milton sat down and rested his bag on his lap. “I wanted to talk with you for a few reasons. First, I wanted to let you know that you won’t have to worry about anymore Aureus’Aevum attacks. Lang’kahn and his followers have been taken care of, and in the process of doing so, magic has been lost.”

Alicia glared at Milton. “You’re stalling, where are Ahir and Trixie?”

Milton took in a deep breath. “Ahir and Trixie decided to stay in the Aureus’Aevum world instead of returning. We won’t ever see them again.”

Daniel let out a sigh of relief. “Oh, is that all? I was afraid that something terrible had happened to them.”

Milton smirked, “No, they’re fine. There was one other thing that I wanted to talk with you about. The Aureus’Aevum allowed me to bring some of their artifacts back with me, and I wanted to get your permission to continue using them to help you fight crime.”

Detective Miguel leaned forward. “That would depend on what these artifacts of yours can do.”

Milton pulled the bag on his lap open and pulled his bow out. “I believe you are familiar with what my bow is capable of.” He set the bow down on the top of the desk and pulled out a pair of gauntlets. “These will enable anyone wearing them to fly.”

Daniel whistled and looked at the gauntlets appreciatively. “I sure wouldn’t mind trying those out.”

Milton shrugged. “Maybe I’ll let you wear them sometime then. Now this,” Milton pulled a helmet out of the bag. “This will let anyone wearing it to run super fast. I haven’t had a chance to try it out yet, but Trixie seemed to enjoy using it.”

Detective Miguel nodded his head. “Those all seem safe enough, as long as they don’t end up in the wrong person’s hands. Is that all that you brought?”

Milton shook his head. “No, there’s one more.” He pulled a chain out of the bag and set it on the desk. “Anyone I touch with this chain will be bound in invisible restraints until I free them.”

Detective Miguel stared at the artifacts for a moment and finally nodded his head. “I will allow you to aid us with these artifacts under one condition. You will be working with us, so you will keep us informed of any and all cases that you are working on.”

Milton held out his hand. “That seems fair, I agree to your terms.”

Detective Miguel shook Milton’s hand and Daniel piped up. “One more condition, I get to try flying with the gauntlets.”

Milton chuckled, “Sure, that won’t be a problem.”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Laz’krit dragged Kahl’kahn into the throne room, Kahl’kahn shouting out protests and trying to wiggle out of Laz’krit’s grasp, but it was no use; Laz’krit had a grip like a vice after his long hours at the anvil. Bar’duo sat up and stared at the scene with curiosity. “What is the meaning of this disturbance?”

Laz’krit glared at Kalh’kahn. “I found this little troublemaker playing inside of my vault!”

Bar’duo sighed and shook his head. “Is that all? Thank you for bringing this to my attention, Bec’tina and I will have a word with the boy.”

Laz’krit shook his head. “It isn’t as simple as that, I’m afraid. He was playing with the picture frame.”

Bar’duo gasped. “Not the one that opens portals between dimensions.”

Laz’krit sighed and nodded his head. “The very one. The little scamp sent all of my artifacts through the portal. Who knows how much trouble he may have caused.”

Bar’duo’s eyes went wide in shock. “It can’t be, after all the aid that the humans gave us, my son goes and returns the favor by filling their world with chaos.”

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more like it, come back on Monday when I will publish part one of chapter 7 of Rebellion on Aquore, come back tomorrow when I will have all of chapter 17 for you, and Sunday for an update video on what happened previously in Rebellion on Aquore, and a glimpse of what is going to happen in chapter 7. Check out the other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination, check out my facebook page connect with me and give me some feedback: Facebook, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read, and don’t forget to check out my newly published book, The Kids on the Case: Our First Case. You can buy a copy of your own here:The Kids on the Case: Our First Case.

Leave a Reply

