A Monster.com Ad Part 1

One of the assignments that I had in my advertising classes in college was to design two thirty second ads for Monster.com. These ads were supposed to be connected, or to have a similar theme, and I chose to make two ads featuring a monster that instead of being scared of, kids were asking him for career advice. The main message for the ad was that Monster.com takes the fear out of job searching. The monster in the ad is quite upset by the kid’s lack of fear toward him, but explains that it can’t be helped, Monster.com takes all the fear out of job searching. He then goes on to discuss some of the benefits and services that Monster.com offers.

I feel that this is an example of a good ad, it is entertaining, lists the benefits of the product being advertised without being obnoxious. I’ll agree that the ad may be a little simplistic, but do things have to be overly complicated? The ad is down below, if you want to see the bigger version of the story board just click on the image. Please leave any comments you have about the ad down below, I would love to hear how to improve this ad. I will be posting the second part of this ad next week, so if you want to see the conclusion of this story, make sure to come back for it next week.


monster

VIDEO AUDIO
OPEN TO MONSTER SITTING ON A PARK BENCH MONSTER: I remember the good old days when kids used to be scared of me.
LITTLE BOY RUNS UP TO MONSTER BOY: Can you help me with career mapping?
MONSTER: The only map I have leads to under your bed. Ever since Monster.com came out kids keep asking me for career help.
CUT TO MONSTER SITTING ON PARK BENCH SURROUNDED BY KIDS SFX: (KIDS ALL TALKING AT ONCE, MONSTER ROARS, CHILDREN LAUGH.)
MONSTER SITTING ON PARK BENCH ALONE. MONSTER: I guess I can’t really blame the kids for not being scared of me anymore. Monster.com takes the fear out of job hunting. I mean they have career advice, career mapping and a resume writing service.
LITTLE GIRL WALKS UP WITH A PIECE OF PAPER IN HER HAND. GIRL: Can you help me write a resume?
-30-
Leave a Reply

