The Super Morpher, Chapter 11: Forcing Confrontation Part 3

Ryan, dressed as the Super Morpher, stepped into his dorm and cleared his throat. Lieutenant Jacob turned and  his eyes opened wide in panic. He reached for his gun at his side and pointed it at Ryan. Ryan held up his hands and said, “Relax, Officer. I’m here to talk with you about Mr. Godard.”

Lieutenant Jacob stared at Ryan suspiciously. “And how did you know that I would be here? Are you spying on the police?”

Ryan shook his head. “Nothing like that; Mr. Godard has a very concerned friend that tracked me down and asked me to help out if I could. Have you found any leads?”

Lieutenant Jacob shook his head. “The lady at the front desk saw some guys in suits enter the building, but she didn’t get a good look at their faces, if they are the ones that did this. There’s no fingerprints, and they didn’t leave anything behind either. I think you know where to find him though, if that voice over the radio was correct.”

Ryan flinched. “That voice was the real reason I came here. I’m afraid that whoever it is that is behind all this is going to try to force me to do something terrible. I was hoping that the police could help me stop that from happening.”

Lieutenant Jacob chuckled. “You expect the police to work with a vigilante?”

Ryan growled, “You don’t have to work with me, I just need you to be prepared. Whoever that voice belongs to claims that he has control over the city’s crime. Last time I met with him he wanted me to come work for him, otherwise he said he would have the gangs destroy the city.”

Lieutenant Jacob raised his eyebrows. “So what, are you turning yourself in?”

Ryan shook his head. “No, I’m not going to work for him, but I’m not about to let the city be destroyed either. I’m going to fight these gangs, and stop them if I can. I can’t be everywhere in the city at once though, so I’m going to need the help of the police to round them all up.”

Lieutenant Jacob frowned. “I can’t just sit by and let the city be destroyed, so I’ll help you out. But you have to tell me who you are under that mask. You need to be held accountable for your actions.”

“I can’t do that; you have seen the extremes that this guy is willing to go to get me to work for him. Can you imagine what he would be capable of if he were to find out who I was? I have to keep my identity secret for as long as I can.”

Lieutenant Jacob grunted. “I understand that, and it’s very admirable of you to try and protect those that you care about, but I’m a police officer. I’m not about to go around telling everything I know about everyone to any thugs I see.”

Ryan shook his head. “This man is claiming to be behind every crime in the city, to have complete control over criminals. I would be willing to bet that a couple of police officers report to him.”

Realization dawned over Lieutenant Jacob’s face. “I am going to have to look into that. If this guy is as bad as you are claiming he is, I might want your help bringing him down.”

Ryan nodded his head. “You’ll have it. I have about an hour and forty five minutes left before this guy kills Mr. Godard. I’ll give you an hour and a half to get your men in position before I make my move.”

Lieutenant Jacob watched Ryan walk out of the room with curiosity. After talking with him, the Super Morpher was not what he had expected at all. He shook his head. He had a lot of work to do if he was going to be ready to face what was coming. He pulled the radio attached to his shoulder to his mouth and said, “This is Lieutenant Jacob, I’m going to need to get every available officer, both on and off duty prepared for a massive attack on the city.”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

An hour and a half later Ryan stood in an elevator in the Zimmdaran Accounting Experts building, breathing slowly in an effort to keep himself calm. The fight was going to start here, he was certain of it. He was going to have to figure out how to protect Jordan, and get out of the building as fast as he could to allow him to get to wherever the gangs were going to attack. The button for floor eighty was lit up, and a soft ding sounded every time the elevator passed another floor. The elevator finally stopped and the doors slid open.

Ryan stepped out of the elevator and immediately saw five armed men waiting in the hallway. Ryan made his way past them, trying to seem full of confidence, and he was sure he heard one of them snicker. He opened the door that led into the room he had been in earlier that day and gasped when he saw Jordan tied to a chair. The room was filled with ten armed men, all watching him.

The distorted voice came through the speakers in the room. “Ahh, if it isn’t the Super Morpher, and with only ten minutes to spare. I almost thought you weren’t going to show up.”

Ryan growled, “I’m here, now let Mr. Godard go. Once he is safely out of the building, we can discuss why you wanted to meet with me.”

A distorted laugh came through the speakers. “Just because you are the only one here with powers, doesn’t mean you have power here. Mr. Godard stays right where he’s at, and if you make any move to free him, one of my men will end his life.” The armed men pulled their guns free. “Have you given any thought to my proposition I made earlier today?”

Ryan frowned. “You said that you would give me a week to think about it. It hasn’t even been a day.”

“Yes, but it is such an easy question I thought you should have an answer already. Besides, I was just too excited to hear your answer to wait.”

Ryan took a deep breath. “I already abandoned this city to you and your men once, I’m not going to do it again.”

“You aren’t thinking clearly about this. Maybe if I made the consequences plain to you; if you refuse to work for me, then Mr. Godard dies and the entire city will be destroyed. Are you prepared to live with that on your conscious?”

Ryan’s hands formed into fists at his side. “I can take down all the men you have in this room without you being able to hurt me; I will leave this place, and I’m going to take Mr. Godard with me, and I’m going to protect this city.”

The distorted voice sighed and said, “I can see you have made your choice. Shoot Mr. Godard, then get rid of the Super Morpher.”

Ryan ran to the chair that Jordan was tied to and absorbed it. Ryan’s body transformed into wood and he jumped between Jordan and the armed men just in time to take a hail of bullets to his back.

The distorted voice said, “Very impressive, but you aren’t going to be able to escape from this building while doing that. Surrender and I will let your friend live.”

Jordan looked up at Ryan with fear in his eyes. “What are we going to do?”

Ryan picked Jordan up in his arms and ran across the room at the windows. He pushed his shoulder into the glass, shattering and flew out the window amidst a shower of broken glass and started the eighty story drop to the pavement below.

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more like it, come back on Monday when I will publish part one of chapter 11 of Beast Blades, come back tomorrow when I will have all of chapter 11 for you, and Sunday for an update video on what happened previously in Beast Blades, and a glimpse of what is going to happen in chapter 11. Check out the other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination, check out my facebook page connect with me and give me some feedback: Facebook, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read, and don’t forget to check out my newly published book, The Kids on the Case: Our First Case. You can buy a copy of your own here:The Kids on the Case: Our First Case.

Leave a Reply

