The Godard Brothers, Chapter 2: Hairy Potatoes Part 2

godard brothers black

“Happy birthday, dear Sanji, happy birthday to you!” Applause filled the kitchen of Alfred and Amanda’s home once their family had finished singing to Sanji. It wasn’t Sanji’s birthday until the following Monday, but the entire family was able to come and celebrate on this Friday night. Jordan Godard, Sanji and Alex’s great grandfather made his way over to Sanji’s side followed by his wife Brittany.

Jordan smiled at Sanji and said, “Just how old are you today, young man?”

Sanji chuckled, “I’m nine, Grandpa Jordan. If you can’t keep track of how old I am, it might be time for you to retire from your position as the scientific advisor to the Emperor.”

Jordan leaned on his cane as he chuckled and shook his head. “I should have known better than to try and treat a Godard boy like a normal kid. Especially one that managed to finally figure out a way to use your father’s theoretical formula.”

Sanji blushed. “It wasn’t just me, Alex helped me figure it out. How did you hear about that?”

Jordan pulled a chair back from the table and sat down next to Sanji. “It’s all your Father and Grandfather have been talking about tonight. They’re both very proud of you two; we all are. It’s good to see that you will be carrying on the Godard family tradition of excelling in science.”

Amanda stepped up to Jordan’s side with a piece of cake on a small plate. “Did you want any ice cream with your cake, Grandpa Jordan?”

Jordan smiled at Amanda and shook his head. “No thank you, my dear. I’m afraid that ice cream doesn’t quite agree with me anymore, and the cold is too much for my teeth. I would like a glass of milk though, if it’s not too much trouble.”

Amanda set the piece of cake in front of Jordan. “It’s no trouble at all.”

Jordan turned his attention back to Sanji as Amanda moved to get him a glass. “Now tell me, Sanji; what are you learning in school these days?”

Sanji grunted before responding. “Not much, other than they put people who are unfit to be educators in charge of the classrooms. If I dropped out of school right  now, I would still know more than any of the other students will when they graduate.”

Jordan frowned. “That’s not a very good attitude to have. Everyone around us can teach us something that we didn’t know before. Having an attitude like that will only serve to hamper you from learning. Not only that, but I thought your parents would have taught you to have more respect for those around you than that.”

Sanji shrugged. “They’ve tried, but it doesn’t seem to make much sense to me. Respect is for those who deserve it.”

Jordan shook his head. “That’s exactly what I’m talking about; that attitude of yours prevented you from learning a lesson from your parents. Promise me that you will think about what I told you tonight; I believe the future of the world rests in the hands of you and your brother.”

Sanji sighed, but nodded his head. “I will, Grandpa, if you promise to put a good word in for me with my parents and try to convince them to get me into some more difficult classes.”

Jordan looked at Alfred who was talking with Ryan and winked at him. Alfred nodded his head. Jordan turned his attention back to Sanji and said, “I’ll see what I can do, but in the meantime perhaps you would like to come and study with me occasionally? I’m sure that I could still teach you a thing or two.”

Sanji’s face lit up. “That would be awesome!”

Ryan walked up with a big smile on his face. “What’s so awesome? You didn’t tell him our secret without me, did you Jordan?”

Sanji looked at Ryan suspiciously, but Jordan looked at him and put his finger up to his lips. “Shh! I don’t know if he’s old enough to know about that yet, Ryan.”

Sanji looked back and forth from Ryan’s face back to Jordan’s. “What secret? I’m old enough to know! I’m nine now!”

Ryan nodded his head. “I have to agree with him, Jordan. Nine certainly seems old enough to know about it.”

Jordan looked at Sanji’s begging face and sighed. “Very well, but you have to promise not to tell anyone about our secret. Can you do that, Sanji?”

Sanji nodded his head. “I won’t tell anyone, I promise!”

Alex wandered over and looked at Sanji excitedly. “What won’t you tell anyone, Sanji?”

Jordan looked at Ryan questioningly. “Do you think we should tell Alex too?”

Ryan smiled. “I think we should. He won’t tell anyone about it, will you?” Alex looked at Ryan with confusion, but nodded his head. “Good man. Our secret is that I was the Super Morpher.”

The boys stared at Ryan with disbelief and then looked to Jordan for confirmation. Jordan chuckled and nodded his head. “It’s true; he was. Not only that, but I was the Ultra Mod.”

Sanji’s eyes opened wide in excitement, but they quickly turned from excitement to suspicion. “If Uncle Ryan is the Super Morpher, then prove it. Change into something.”

Ryan chuckled, “Aren’t you a young scientist, always looking for proof. I hope that this is enough proof for you.” Ryan took the fork from Jordan, and the fork disappeared. Ryan’s skin gained a metallic look and turned silvery. “Are you satisfied now?” Ryan’s skin turned back to normal and the fork reappeared in his hands.

Alex shook in excitement. “That is so cool! Why didn’t you tell more people about who you really were, like Grandpa Mark?”

Jordan’s face grew somber. “There aren’t many things that your grandfather and I disagree about, but that is one of them. I felt that if people knew who we were, those that we cared about might become targets to our enemies. We felt that keeping who we were a secret kept our loved ones safe.”

Amanda approached Jordan’s side with a glass of milk in her hands. Jordan accepted the glass gratefully. “Thank you, my dear. You did a wonderful job with this cake.”

Amanda smiled. “Thank you, but you should recognize it, it’s Grandma Brittany’s recipe.”

Brittany smiled, “I’m glad that it still sees use. Tell me Amanda, how are you adapting to raising young geniuses?”

Amanda sighed, “It’s a challenge almost every day. I’m always wondering what sort of experiment I’m going to walk around the corner and find them in the process of. Wait until you hear about what they did to their walls this week!”

🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺🔻🔺

Alfred took a bite of the piece of cake from his plate. He swallowed before continuing. “It’s so hard to believe, but it seems like there weren’t any harmful side effects from the formula at all! From what I could tell, it was a healthy as a hairy potato could be!”

Mark nodded his head. “That’s great news. I think you should start looking for some volunteers for the next step soon.”

Alfred smiled. “That was my plan. I’m hoping to have a test group put together by the end of next week and be ready to start testing the week after that. I can’t wait to get back to the lab on Monday and see how much new growth there is! After all these years, I’ll finally have a success to talk about at one of my lectures!”

Mark chuckled, “I’m sure that the crowds that you draw will be bigger than ever before. Are you ready for that?”

Alfred nodded his head. “I think so, but I could always use more help. Would you be interested in coming along and helping to deliver my next lecture?”

Mark shook his head. “I don’t think that would be a good idea, Alfred. You have something amazing to talk about, and the crowds should be focused on you. Having a superhero there would only distract them from what you’re saying.”

Alfred nodded his head. “Yes, that does make sense. Will you at least let me practice with you before I go next weekend?”

Mark patted Alfred on the back. “I would be happy to, son. Let’s go and get some more of that cake before my father eats it all.”

Alfred chuckled, “I don’t think we have much to worry about, Grandma Brittany will make sure that he doesn’t have too much.”

Mark rolled his eyes. “You obviously don’t know your grandparent’s as well as I do, Alfred. You can stay if you want, but I’m getting more of that cake!” Mark made his way over to the table. Alfred shook his head and followed him.

Thank you for checking out my story, if you liked this and want to see more of it, come back on Friday when I will publish part three, and check out the other stories I’m working on writing, here: Tales of the Imagination, check out my facebook page to connect with me and give me some feedback: Facebook, and follow me on Twitter here: @EJBorchardt. Please like, comment, and tell your friends if you like what you’ve read, and don’t forget to check out my new book! You can buy a copy of it here: The Kids on the Case: Our First Case.

Leave a Reply

